\ BigfootResearch.com
If you have seen a bigfoot or believe you have ongoing activity in your area that is bigfoot related, please complete our Report Form to report your sighting.
Tom Yamarone, Chair
Monica Rawlins, Vice-Chair
Dave Osborne, Secretary
Kathy Strain, Treasurer
Sean Forker, Sgt. at Arms
Bob Strain, Director
Don Stockton, Director
Daniel Falconer, Director
Robert Swain, Director
Peter Wilson, Director

Welcome Anonymous

(Register)

Membership:
Latest: ReginaA
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 940

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 28
Total: 28
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Archive
02: Archive
03: Home
04: News and Reports
05: Home
06: News and Reports
07: News and Reports
08: News and Reports
09: Contact
10: Archive
11: News and Reports
12: News and Reports
13: News and Reports
14: News and Reports
15: Home
16: Home
17: News and Reports
18: News and Reports
19: News and Reports
20: News and Reports
21: Your Account
22: News and Reports
23: News and Reports
24: AIBR Forum
25: News and Reports
26: Home
27: News and Reports
28: Archive

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

image courtesy of Paul Willison

Listen In!
www.talkshoe.com
ID: 30301

Let's Talk Bigfoot is a archived Internet radio show endorsed by AIBR.

On each episode are the Who's Who of bigfoot research.

Powered by TalkShoe

Listen to the show on iTunes
Listen to the show on Yahoo
Listen to the show on Google
News › Apes Shown to Be Able to Plan Ahead
Apes Shown to Be Able to Plan Ahead

News - General By RANDOLPH E. SCHMID, AP Science Writer Thu May 18, 9:33 PM ET

WASHINGTON - They don't bring along an umbrella or sunglasses that might be needed later, but researchers say apes, like people, can plan ahead.

Both orangutans and bonobos were able to figure out which tool would work in an effort to retrieve grapes, and were able to remember to bring that tool along hours later, researchers report in Friday's issue of the journal Science.

In a series of laboratory tests the apes were shown the tools and grapes, allowed to retrieve grapes, and then removed from the area where the treats were available.

They were allowed back from one to 14 hours later and most were able to bring along the correct tool to get the treats, report Nicholas J. Mulcahy and Josep Call of the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Leipzig, Germany.

The researchers said the finding suggests that planning ahead arose at least 14 million years ago, when the last common ancestor of bonobos, orangutans and humans lived.

While the findings do not necessarily imply that the apes are able to anticipate a future state of mind, they are nonetheless groundbreaking, Thomas Suddendorf of the University of Queensland in Australia said in a commentary.

"By identifying what capacities our closest living relatives share with us, we can get a glimpse at our evolutionary past," Suddendorf said.

In a separate paper in ScienceExpress, the electronic version of Science, researchers report that scrub jays look over their shoulders when hiding food for future use and, if they think another bird saw where they put it, will relocate their cache.

The report by Nicola S. Clayton and colleagues at the University of Cambridge in England noted that relocating food was common when a bird thought it had been observed by a more dominant bird, but not when a partner was present.

The findings indicate that the birds act to avoid the possibility that a non-partner will raid their stored food, and remember who was around when they hid it, the researchers say.

Posted by Kathy.Strain on Saturday, May 20, 2006 (22:13:01) (6914 reads)
Associated Topics

News - General

Average Score: 5
Votes: 1


Please take a second and vote for this article:

Excellent
Very Good
Good
Regular
Bad

Monday, March 07
Northern California Audio Event (0)
Friday, March 04
Charcoal, Eggplants, and Small Hairy Hominoids (0)
Thursday, March 03
The role of circumstantial evidence in the discovery of new species of primate (0)
Tuesday, February 15
Ichnotaxonomy of the Laetoli trackways: The earliest hominin footprints (0)
Friday, January 14
Giant Asian Ape and Humans Coexisted, Might Have Interacted (0)
Friday, January 14
Sasquatch Summit: A Tribute to John Green (0)
Friday, January 14
The Board Of Advisors (0)
Friday, January 14
Bigfoot sightings expected in Ketchum Sun Valley (0)
Wednesday, January 12
Find the AIBR on Facebook! (0)
Wednesday, December 22
The Alliance of Independent Bigfoot Researchers (0)
Sunday, October 17
Bigfoot in Santa Cruz County?: Enthusiasts make their case during Bigfoot Discov (0)
Thursday, June 24
Sasquatch Phonetic Alphabet (SPA) (0)
Thursday, April 22
Barefoot Running – A Pain for Us Footers (0)
Wednesday, March 24
New Human Species? (0)
Wednesday, September 09
Sasquatch Investigations at the Pinecrest Site, California (0)
Wednesday, November 19
Our Ancestors Had Floppy, Flexible Feet (0)
Tuesday, March 18
Man had daytime sighting in the Blue Ridge Parkway (0)
Tuesday, March 18
Woman has early morning sighting near Curtin, Oregon (0)
Tuesday, March 18
Young Girls Have Sighting Near Lake Huron (0)
Tuesday, March 18
Man hears strange sounds near Frederick, Maryland (0)
Wednesday, March 12
Digitally Simulated Bigfoot Recordings Now Available! (0)
Tuesday, January 29
Beliefs and Experiences with Sasquatch and Corresponding Coping Strategies (0)
Wednesday, January 16
Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is..... (0)
Tuesday, January 15
Witness Sees Hairy Creature Near Swan Hills, Alberta (0)
Tuesday, January 01
How Reliable are Sasquatch Databases? (0)
Tuesday, October 23
Lake Chelan Sighting with Photographs (0)
Tuesday, July 17
Nests and Bedding Areas (0)
Tuesday, June 26
Possible Food Sources For Sasquatch In Oregon (0)
Wednesday, June 20
Abominable Snowmen Are Here! - Ivan T. Sanderson (0)
Friday, May 25
Soldier Has Late-Night Encounter at Quantico Marine Base, Virginia (0)
Friday, February 23
Hunting chimps may change view of human evolution (0)
Thursday, February 01
Archaeologist digs for proof of Sasquatch (0)
Sunday, January 14
How to Video or Photograph a Sasquatch (0)
Tuesday, November 21
An Anatomy Professor Tracks Bigfoot (0)
Thursday, November 02
Protocols and Tools for the Bigfoot Researcher (0)
Thursday, November 02
Get a Cool podcast About Bigfoot! (0)
Thursday, July 27
Research Note: Comments regarding the identity of a hand of unknown origin (0)
Friday, July 21
Creature seen near Hayman Falls Park, Wisconsin (0)
Friday, May 26
ABOM: A Bigfoot Online Museum (0)
Friday, May 26
“Wild Man” Images in European Art (0)
Monday, May 22
Dmitri Donskoy: Biomechanical Analysis of the 1967 Patterson Film (0)
Saturday, May 20
What’s in an Image? (0)
Saturday, May 20
Chimpanzee and human ancestors may have interbred (0)
Saturday, May 20
Shouting monkeys show surprising eloquence (0)
Saturday, May 20
DNA Study Maps Human-Chimp Split (0)
Saturday, May 20
'Hobbit' Species Discovery Challenged (0)
Saturday, May 20
Apes Shown to Be Able to Plan Ahead (0)
Saturday, May 06
Dem Bones (0)
Monday, April 24
Setting the Record Straight: the Penn & Teller "Sonoma" Video (0)
Friday, April 21
Scott Schubbe is trying to solve the puzzle of Big Foot (0)

Older Articles

Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy
Azul-Carbon theme and related images designed by Jamin